My opinion on Street Fighter V Beta Test 3

sfv_beta_restart

Hey people! It’s been a long time since I’ve written about street fighter. Thanks to someone for giving me a code to the beta! Apparently one of those eight people who visited my stream enjoyed it…. Well that’s enough depression for one post I think.

A lot of people want to know is it worth it? Is it different enough? Is it easier to get into than Street Fighter Four? Here are my two cents on everything in this build including something that made quite a few players angry.

                    Brazil looks beautiful

07_brazilsf501

You see Brazil? Do you? Cause I did when I was playing and watched after I knocked my opponent down along with fruit from a cart. A hungry bird then swooped down and grabbed it before returning to it’s perch. The stages look good and depending on your tastes the characters look nice as well. Ken bugs me out a little bit, but that’s probably due to the hair choice Capcom gave to our favorite rich fighter.

The combo system is pretty simple and the one hit into your characters Critical Art is both easy and difficult. I’ve had matches where I was just blocking waiting for that one blow into the Critical art so I could make a comeback. Knowing this my opponents attempted to not only defeat me, but not eat a ton of damage in the process. As a Vega main in SF4 I always wanted the chance to get a normal into ultra. Was never good enough to get cosmic heel into Ultra 2. It makes the game SUPER TENSE! Because, I needed to clench harder while playing…

The combos aren’t to hard to pull off and feel really good. And I’m sure there is nothing better for Laura mains than getting a combo into a throw so they can mix up their enemy even more. (I got that work way to much T.T) Regardless of skill level everyone should be able to get of combos. Took me a while to get used to doing dragon punch motions for Vega’s Flying Barcelona. Which reminds me of the lack of charge moves in this game.

 

                           Charge Woes

Guile's_Flash_Kick

Up above this is Guile. Quite possibly what many would consider the “lamest” character in Street Fighter. He is doing his iconic flash kick. You hold down then after a period of time he’s is charged. Then you hold up and kick. Boom! Flash kick! I have been hit by the tip of this move so many times when making a bad jump, that just mentioning the move gives me flashbacks. The term “lame” comes from Guile and other characters needing to hold down, back, or my favorite downback to charge a special move like flash kick. Players tho just hold down back can and will punish every possible chance their opponent makes to get their offense going. I always just accepted it. Most likely due to the fact that I love Vega and Honda. Street Fighter Five has removed the majority of charge attacks and it seems like there is no character who specializes in charge attacks. To some people they love this. Lame people like myself kinda miss it. Charge moves still exist. Chun-li holds back then forward + punch for her fireball.  It’s nice, but I’m going to miss full charge characters.

                           

                            Matches

05_air_spd.0

If the connection to your opponent is good you’ll be fine. If the connection isn’t then there will be problems.I was talking earlier with someone and there seems to be the idea that some characters need more attacks and I can agree with it. The game isn’t finished and there is a ton of tweaking to do, but for me I’ve hit quite a few laggy matches. Unlike in SF4 people rubber band. Not a good thing in a fighting game. In good matches the pace is sometimes fast and heavy or an exercise in patience and punishing your opponents bad habits or whiffed attacks. There does seem to be something that saddens me a bit. It seems like frame trap pressure is a little more real now and people will constantly throw them out in matches. By the time the game comes out there will be some that are removed and some that will stay. Standing Medium Punches are terrible strong tools. At least for Vega. One counter hit into max damage and you’ll be cursing yourself and your twitchy fingers.

 

                         Vega Matches

 

 

             Crisis of Camera Angles

cammy-before-after

 

I had to talk about this just once. I have avoided on doing it on Youtube, but I will here. The image on the left is from Cammy’s first intro. A while back the intro was changed. Hmm, what seems to be missing? We can’t see Cammy’s crotch anymore. I really kind of don’t care, because the one to the right seems cooler to me. But, many people have called this censorship. I know people have been coming at games for their depiction of fictional women for a while. I really don’t see the problem with changing the angle in a beta, because thing in the beta are subject to change. R.Mika also had a more notable change.

 

                      Butt why?

butt

I could not help myself! See this is what the camera was focused on when R.Mika did her Critical Art. I thought it was hilarious, with the ensuing kiniku buster. Othere people loved it. Some hated it. But, Capcom later changed the focus of the camera to….

 

Street-Fighter-5 mika

Mika’s face. The slap still happens and the kiniku buster was changed. People were PISSED. People believe that enough people complained about the butt slap to foce Capcom to censor their game. Also, censoring the intro for Cammy.  I know what happens out there on forums. People complaining about game characters showing to much skin, not showing good depictions of women, and a lot more. In this situation I think the outrage is more about something that people felt was flying in the face of the people who talk about how terrible women in gaming are. By having it changed fans lost this symbol. If Chun-li had a super like this I’d think it was dumb. Mika used to jump off the top rope of a wrestling ring that magically showed up in the middle of nowhere and has a move called flying peach. Guess what she uses to attack with? I really don’t care about the change, but it’s garnered enough dislike for online petitions to be started to get Capcom to change it back.

Personally, I don’t care! R.Mika is back and she doesn’t suck! We have a highly mobile grappler that isn’t Fuerte! On the topic of censorship. I’m not really sure you can say that X group caused the censoring of a beta. Stuff is subject to change. Here is a quote from Ono to explain the change.

Our objective with ‘Street Fighter V’ is to start over from zero”, explains Ono. “We want the professional players and the casual fans of the series to return, but we also want to reach those who have never even touched a fighting game. So we can’t have something in the game that makes people think, ‘This is not acceptable’”(http://www.dualshockers.com/2015/12/08/yoshinori-ono-comments-on-street-fighter-vs-rainbow-mikas-butt-slap/)

 If the people at Capcom feel like the butt slap will make newcomers think  ‘This is not acceptable’, then it’s their call. As far as I know there were no petitions to remove it. People complaining, but no serious public outcries. Honestly, it was beta and the company decided to change it. It’s no ones decision, but whoever was in that boardroom at the time. So let’s just focus on what we were excited for when Street Fighter Five was announced anyway. Some awesome characters, new moves, and plenty of hype! -Jbillusion

 

 

Ken-intro6

Leave a Reply

